I don’t think I’ll surprise anyone when I admit that I require a “hobby.”  Over the years these hobbies have vastly varied, some have stayed with me as regular pastimes, others have fallen by the wayside.  I hope I’m not the only one with this preoccupation with preoccupation.  I need to be occupied.  Luckily, I’ve found a job (teaching at my school–because I know teaching at other schools does not look like mine) that satisfies the constant need to do something.  It’s obsessive. Let’s reflect.

Probably the earliest hobby I had was

  1. Building Dams – The drainage ditch that runs behind my house had a surprisingly consistent flow.  Therefore, it became the bulk of my homeschooling day to try and make sure that ditch was appropriately dammed.  Sadly, after several hundred attempts over several years, there was no success.  I have not revisited this activity since 6th grade.  I think that means I’m not going to do it again, but you never know.  Right?
  2. Knitting/Needlepoint – I’m going to blame my mom entirely for this one.  After having taught for a year, it’s like her emergency lesson plan one week was “SWBAT knit and needlepoint” and my sister and my-home-schooled-self were the student subjects.  Sadly, this is a very useful hobby for keeping your hands occupied while your mind needs to be busy, and it is one I have more or less retained in one way or another.  Sadly, teaching is not a profession that lets this happen.  Miss Marple clearly was not a teacher (go to 4:15).
  3. Reading – I teach English.  I read constantly.  I read mediocre to amazing student essays constantly.  I read 9th grade curriculum aligned texts repeatedly, and over summer I read the occasional personal Big Person Novel. (I can’t call them Adult Novels because that just sounds dirty.)  This summer was a reading extravaganza: The White Tiger (awesome), Ragtime (stylistically astounding), American Pastoral (crazy entertaining), Beloved (finally got around to Toni Morrison, and it was pretty good), The Known World (this really won the Pulitzer?), One Hundred Years of Solitude (books like this make me glad I can read), Cat’s Cradle (I love Kurt Vonnegut), Interpreter of Maladies (so good), The Caine Mutiny (apparently this is where Michael Caine got his stage name), The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao (very funny), American Gods (Neil Gaiman never disappoints).   There were others, but if I can’t see them right now, I’m not going to bother trying to figure them out.
  4. Pie – I have never been much of a chef, and maybe it’s been the recent spree of Pushing Daisies I’ve been watching, but I have started making pies as a my new found hobby.  This has to be the most satisfying hobby, and also the most expensive hobby I’ve taken up.  And, I’ve met with surprising success.  The Chocolate Raspberry Mousse was popular, both sweet potato pies were successes, the triple-berry pie was personally delicious, and the pear pie was eaten before I had a slice–which I’m assuming means “Tasty!”  The only one that went sour was the Chocolate Mocha pie, but that’s because I really just have to start understanding that dark chocolate, dark coffee beans, and oreo pie crust, and dark brown sugar should never be used all together–there is such a thing as “too heavy.”

The only question now is: how long with pie-making hold out over the school year before work completely overtakes my desire for recreational baking.

