How are the children?

I’m not asking myself that question. I’m asking you. And you should ask yourself that every morning: “How are the children? Are they well fed? Well kept? Well clothed? Well educated? Are they prepared to one day come to control the world and our future?”

And that’s my obligatory TFA moment. Moving on.

Institute is done!  Does that statement really deserve an exclamation point?  I’m not sure.  It was fun while it lasted.  It was a good experience.  Overall, I kind of enjoyed institute, except for some of the questionable decisions, but that’s neither here nor there.  It was a learning experience, if not a growing experience, and all the ridiculously stressful night may be worth it, although I have a feeling that considering my textbook has a lot of different ideas about how to differentiate for different learning levels, consistent use of how to start, go through, and end lessons, I think between that and my expertise, everything’s covered.

Meanwhile, I have moved out of Temple (praise high heaven), and have moved into a house (!) in West Philadelphia, just a little west of UCity. If you’re wondering what it looks like, thing standard house in inner city phila, and combine that with the house from “The Money Pit.” And you have our house.  Not really that bad.  The holes in the floors aren’t even close to being that big.

It’s a mess. We came up with a list of over 40 “grievances” for our landlord (who wasn’t our landlord before, and we’re not really sure who our landlord really is, but we’re making do) including but not limited to: putting handles on all the doors, fixing the slanting staircase, installing windows where there are gaping holes, installing a back porch with slats that don’t shift as you move across them, install washer/dryer, etc.

But, I have gotten the chance to explore the neighborhood a little bit a there are already several nice cafe, restaurant, and grocery options within easy walking distance.  I think I’m really going to like this neighborhood.  I think I really like this town.

