You know the gimme interviewer question: If you could have one day all to yourself, no monetary restrictions, no time zone hassles, where would you go and what would you do?  It’s the type of question that is just a toss off to waste time and see what you’re like when you’re not stressing over an interview.  I cannot tell you how many people I have totally dismissed, flat-out rejected, because they gave a stupid answer to this stupid question.  “Oh, well…I guess I would go to the lake and hang out with friends.  That’s what’s really important to me.”  Which tells me, if you were offered the chance to stay in a $10,000 a night hotel, and millions of dollars to gamble away or give to charity if you wanted to, or to go to India and feed a village, or go Bungee jumping in South Africa, you would reject an amazing opportunity to do something you can do any day.  That means you’re probably the most unimaginative, boring, and clueless person I’ve ever met.  Leave my sight now. That’s what I think.

Anyways, I have one day left in Florida, and because of my incredible procrastination, it will be spent in the dentist’s office, getting a haircut, cleaning out my room, and then packing.  Good job, man, leave all the easy stuff for the last day.  No, no.  It’s cool.  Just add on one more day of stress to what will be one of the most stressful experiences of your life…right up there with that one time when you had to walk dogs and pick up their doodoo in a pooper scooper.  Not fun.

So, of course, I’m sitting in a mess right now: piles of shirts, dress shirts, underwear, pants, shorts, shoes, suitcases, pens, hats, peanuts, books, glasses, Vitamin Water bottles, and the TFA bibles.  It’s a wreck. I would take a picture, but it would seriously only depress me more.  So instead, I’m here, writing for the benefit of you! (Whoever you are.  If I don’t know you: Hi! If I do you know you: why don’t you just call me and wish me good luck, because goodness knows I’ll need the encouragement.)

This last month has been a heaven though.  I did nothing.  I woke up, sunbathed, swam, read, watched movies and TV for the first time in a while, bought working people clothes and socks and undershirts, and read the best Young Adult books ever.  It’s a shame I couldn’t prep for TFA forever.  This was better than being loaded.  This had no fame or fortune attached.  Just the bliss of the comfortably poor.

So now there is one day before Teach For America Orientation and the infamous “Institute.”  One day before a flurry of new facebook friendship requests and wall posts.  One day before a miserably early plane to Philadelphia.  One day before my life as a teacher really begins.  One day before the start of a dream–kind of.

Just so you know: I become crazy when someone puts a camera in my hands.  It was severely debilitating when I had no camera my last semester in college.  But my Graduation/Birthday present from my parents was a new camera.  And it’s pretty sweet.  And now I have a new toy that’s just as distracting as this whole internet thing.  “Friggin’ obnoxious,” in the words of me through the words of someone else who was saying it back to me just to be more friggin’ obnoxious.

I need to focus.  It doesn’t help that After writing here, interrupted with taking pictures in the backyard, and interrupted again by burning CDs, I can’t help but want to rearrange my bookshelves.  This is madness, you may say.  But ever since I sold away dozens of my books in exchange for different books, I’ve wanted to rearrange the shelves which have looked pretty much the same since junior year of high school.

Maybe I’ll just start folding shirts instead.

Or maybe I’ll sample the different cheese in the fridge.

Or maybe I’ll just eat these mixed nuts next to me, that have been following me for the last year: a gift from my grand-aunt that I never quite got around to eating for some reason.

Focus.  Man.  Focus.  Dude.  Focus.  Alright.  I’m giving this post up, to go fold clothes and listen to the new Death Cab for Cutie Album.

