or we could call them the band formerly known as The Management.

These guys are great. I first of these guys a while ago with their single Time to Pretend–also known as the MGMT “mission statement”–and if you watch that video you will think you’re on drugs, but that’s their goal apparently. (It’s like someone took a class on every way to play with video clip, and then decided their first project would be this music video. Not that it’s bad, it’s great fun. Where else do you see an infinity of drummers and flying dolphins?)

MGMT calls their own music from their latest album Oracular Spectacular “an enigmatic and prophetic collection of hallucinatory sounds and hook-riddled pop tones for the new millennium.” I guess you could say that. It’s clear they have a lot going for them, including all the methods in how to be original. And I think it’s great. Their first full-length album is surprising. And I won’t say it didn’t take some getting used to, but now I think it’s great. Really great. Different. But great.

And I’ll shamelessly steal from the wikipedia article:

MGMT performed the song “Time to Pretend” on The Late Show with David Letterman on January 8, 2008. The song subsequently hit #21 on the Mediabase US Alternative chart..[11] This song also opened the 2008 film 21 and is featured on its soundtrack.

…and…

On October 5, 2007, Spin.com named MGMT “Artist of the Day”.[1] On November 14, 2007 Rolling Stone pegged MGMT as a top 10 “Artist to Watch” in 2008.[2] The band was recently named 9th in the BBC‘s Sound of 2008 top 10 poll.[3]

The CD itself I would go out on a limb and say “Purchase.” Why? Because I like it, that’s why. And because I honestly think it’s good, and it’s good for a few reasons not just one. First, they’re different but not is a strange way, in a good way–a way that forces you evaluate if what they’ve done you truly like or don’t like, because they teeter on a edge (an edge I happen to favor). Second, they have variety: you would not guess that “Pieces of What” could ever have been done by the same artist who produced “Time to Pretend”. Third, they grow on you–or at least they’ve grown on me. Music I don’t tired of is music I value highly, and though I keep putting this album through the ringer (in the car and at home) it still sounds fresh and different every time. (And this really doesn’t count as a reason, but they did take the time to write out all the lyrics to their songs if you buy the album retail-style. I appreciate that.)

The tracks on Oracular Spectacular:

  1. Time to Pretend – 5/5
  2. Weekend Wars – 3/5
  3. The Youth – 3/5
  4. Electric Feel – 4.5/5
  5. Kids – 4/5
  6. 4th Dimensional Transition – 3.5/5
  7. Pieces of What – 4/5
  8. Of Moons, Birds & Monsters – 5/5
  9. The Handshake – 4/5
  10. Future Reflections – 3.5/5

Overall: 3.9/5. Solid, really close to Great.

This is what Rolling Stone thinks about it.

But I think the BBC does the best job winding their way around the CD.

